The 2021 Golden Shears Competition is now open – apply online now

Golden Shears 2021

Golden Shears winner Thomas Carr, Trainee at Richard Anderson.

Design inspired by his grandfather who used to work in the engine rooms of cargo ships.

Silver Shears winner Judith Ekblom Jarrold, Trainee at Maurice Sedwell.

A male ensemble reimagined for women.

Rising Star winner Jon Pickering, Trainee at Dege & Skinner.

He hopes to continue with creative designs in the future.

Many thanks to:

All competition finalists

Akira Nakajima

Alexander Bello

Amy Pollard

Caleb-Ciara Britton

Catriona Macgregor

Eider Garcia Garikano


Georgia Stevenson

Henry Kent

Jon Pickering

Judith Ekblom Jarrold

Karolina Karpaviciute

Katrin Dimitrova

Matthew Stanley

Michael Amoh-Donkor

Natasha Antonia Smith

Rebecca Fletcher

Sarah Magras

Thomas Carr

Our main supporters​

The Merchant Taylor’s Company

Capit B Trust

The Company of Drapers’

The Pollen Estates

The Woolmen Company

All other supporters​

  • Burnstein & Banley
  • Cad and The Dandy
  • Courtney & Co
  • Dege & Skinner
  • Dormeuil
  • Dugdale Bros
  • Gieves & Hawkes
  • Grove & Lindley
  • Hardy Minnis
  • Harrisons of
  • Edinburgh
  • Henry Poole
  • Holland & Sherry
  • Lock & Co Hatters (Men)
  • Lock Couture (Women)
  • Savile Row Style Magazine
  • Scabal
  • The Textile Institute

Style judges

  • Tom Chamberlin, Editor in Chief, The Rake
  • Daisy Knatchbull, Founder, The Deck, London
  • Dave Berry, TV and Radio Presenter
  • Lilah Parsons, Arts and Entertainment Presenter
  • Aleksandar Cvetkovic, Journalist

Technical judges

  • Davide Taub, Head Cutter, Gieves & Hawkes
  • Brigitte Stepputtis, Global Head of Couture, Vivienne Westwood
  • Joe Morgan, Head Cutter, Chittleborough & Morgan
  • Leon Powell, Senior Cutter, Anderson & Sheppard
  • Jonathan Becker, Head Cutter, Couch & Hoskins

Participating companies and colleges

  • Dege & Skinner
  • Henry Poole and Co.
  • Inkberrow Design Center
  • Leeds Arts University
  • London College of Fashion
  • Maurice Sedwell
  • Norwich University of the Arts
  • Richard Anderson
  • University for the Creative Arts, Rochester
  • Wimbledon College of Art